OFFICE OF UTILITIES REGULATION

Regulating Utilities for the Benefit of All

O.U.R. NEW HEAD OF REGIONAL REGULATORY BODY

(PROVIDENCIALES, Turks and Caicos; 2015 October 30): Director General of the Office of Utilities Regulation (OUR) Mr. Albert Gordon, has been elected Chairman of the Organization Of Caribbean Utility Regulators (OOCUR), the association of regional regulatory organizations.

The election, which took place on Thursday, 2015 October 29, was held at OOCUR's 13th General Assembly and General Conference at the Beaches Resorts in the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Mrs. Kathleen Riviere-Smith, CEO of the Utilities Regulation and Competition Authority (URCA) in the Bahamas, was elected as the Deputy Chairman. Other members of the Executive Council are: Mr. Guy Malone, CEO of the Telecommunications Regulatory Commission (TRC), British Virgin Islands (BVI); Mr. Lance McCaskey, Executive Director of the Independent Regulatory Commission (IRC), Dominica and Mr. Kelly Josephs, Executive Director/CEO National Water and Sewerage Commission, St. Lucia.

OOCUR's Executive Director is Mr. David Geddes and the Corporate Secretary is Justice Prem Persuad. The out-going Chairman of OOCUR is Mr. John Avery of the Public Utilities Commission, Belize.

Jamaica is to host OOCUR's next annual conference which will be held in 2016.

OOCUR is a non-profit organization, established in July 2002 in Ocho Rios, Jamaica with the specific objectives to assist in the improvement of utility regulation; to foster transparent and stable utility regulation through autonomous and independent regulators in the region, as well as to facilitate understanding of regulation issues and sharing of information and experience.

BACKGROUND

Senior engineer with multi-sector utility experience, Albert Gordon, was appointed Director General of the OUR by the Governor General, His Excellency the Most Honourable Sir Patrick Allen, on 2013 November 1. He succeeded Mr. Maurice Charvis.

The General Assembly is OOCUR's governing body and is made up of the following member regulators: Fair Trading Commission, Barbados; Independent Regulatory Commission, Dominica; the OUR, Jamaica; Public Utilities Commissions of Anguilla, Belize and Guyana; the Regulated Industries Commission, Trinidad and Tobago; URCA, the Bahamas; the Telecommunications Commission, Turks and Caicos Islands; Telecommunications Regulatory Commission, British Virgin Islands and Virgin Islands Public Services Commission, US Virgin Islands.

-30-